Friday Freethought Video

Dara O’Briain on Alternative Medicine

Explore posts in the same categories: Friday Freethought Video

Tags:

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

3 Comments on “Friday Freethought Video”

  1. Kassul Says:

    Love Dara Ó Briain, he’s one of my favourite panelists on the TV show QI, and I’ve greatly enjoyed much of the standup stuff by him I’ve seen so far. Really ought to look into getting ahold of episodes of Mock the Week, etc… to see what he’s like there. I imagine I’d enjoy it.

    I also empathize sometimes with his Catholic baggage. He’s an atheist, but views himself as ethnically Catholic(once raised one you probably always are at least a bit >_>)

  2. Victor Says:

    I’m actually not real familiar with Dara Ó Briain. I’ll have to find more of his stuff. I need to get a few episode of QI, as well. The clips I’ve seen of it are real good and I Stephen Fry is about as smart as they come.

    The “cultural” Catholic thing is indeed strange. It almost seems like they’re following in the footsteps of Judaism, in which being secular is perfectly acceptable. Play a role once a week, then go about your life.

  3. Kassul Says:

    You don’t even need to play the role to be a cultural Catholic. You can be an out atheist who doesn’t go to church, etc… but still feel the lingering touch of Catholicism in your automatic reactions to various things like sex and have horrible crushing guilt and whatnot. :P

    Going to church on Sunday, or just for Easter is nice, but not needed. Oh wells.


Leave a Reply

