Top Sci Fi Novels (Meta Analysis)

Everybody’s got a list of their top science fiction novels. So, I decided to make a list of the lists. I took the top 812* lists of “best sci fi” (according to google), threw them on a single list, then sorted by popularity. Note: some lists tended to add a series in with a list of single novels. In that case I substituted the fist book from the series. It was either that or delete that entry entirely.

Top Sci Fi Novel Meta Analysis

1 Foundation Isaac Asimov
2 Ender’s Game Orson Scott Card
3 Dune Frank Herbert
4 I Robot Isaac Asimov
5 Neuromancer William Gibson
6 Frankenstein Mary Shelley
7 The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy Douglas Adams
8 The Time Machine H. G. Wells
9 2001: A Space Odyssey Arthur C. Clarke
10 Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep? Philip Dick
11 Fahrenheit 451 Ray Bradbury
12 Stranger In A Strange Land Robert A. Heinlein
13 1984 George Orwell
14 Brave New World Aldous Huxley
15 Childhood’s End Arthur C. Clarke
16 Hyperion Dan Simmons
17 Ringworld Larry Niven
18 Slaughterhouse-Five Kurt Vonnegut
19 Snow Crash Neal Stephenson
20 The Martian Chronicles Ray Bradbury
21 The Moon is a Harsh Mistress Robert A. Heinlein

*Updated with 4 more lists 12-19-2010

Explore posts in the same categories: Self Indulgence

Tags:

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

2 Comments on “Top Sci Fi Novels (Meta Analysis)”

  1. Kassul Says:

    Read several and several more of these are on my Christmas Wishlist(along with a whole heap of other books). If I don’t get them for Christmas, I’ll doubtless end up buying some of them sometime over the next year.

    I have too many books to read. I think that’s a good thing though?

  2. Victor Says:

    Yeah, I think the last time I looked at my wish list there were 80 books on it. I pared it down quite a bit.

    I haven’t read Neuromancer or Snow Crash, but I’ll get around to them sometime.


Leave a Reply

