Another End of the World

Well, Poe’s Law is proving itself right. It is getting harder and harder to tell if these End of Days prophets are serious, or just bad parodies.

Ronald Weinland, who considers himself a prophet of God, continues to warn that Jesus Christ is returning on May 27, 2012.

For those who do not believe him and mock his message, Weinland claims that they will die from cancer.

Gee, you would think that eternal damnation would be enough. Why the cancer death? Laying it on a little think, perhaps? Why doesn’t he just say they’ll be run over by a stray 4th of July parade float? Or bitten by an angry pony?

“The truth is ridiculed, ignored, slandered and mocked,” he warns.

Yeah, you know what else is ridiculed and mocked? Stupidity.

His doomsday prophecy is based on all the old standards: Daniel, Revelations, the little apocalypse in Mark. Same old stuff that the 5th Monarchists thought was predicting a recent end of the world in the 17th century, and it’ll be the same stuff that Christians a hundred years from now use. If only the guys that wrote those works knew how seriously people two thousand years later would take their stuff.

Explore posts in the same categories: Superstition in the Modern World

4 Comments on “Another End of the World”


  1. dAMN..i HOPE THIS DOUCHE GETS alot of publicity between now and May. I depend on idiocy like this to boost sales at my Eternal Earth-Bound Pets post rapture pet rescue site.

    The nutterlast May was a gold mine for me. I was worried I’d have to wait till the Mayan calander thng next December. Good to see another rapture/end of world prediction is just around the corner.

  2. Victor Says:

    Well, I’ll do my best to get the word out for you!

  3. Kassul Says:

    Hrm, I watched the video where he warns that I’ll be eaten from the inside by cancer, etc… But I’m still a bit fuzzy on the timing.

    Will this be a miraculous rapid cancer starting on the 27th? I only ask because I was planning on taking part in the Ottawa Race Weekend on the 26th of May… I’d really like to do so, but cancer and apocalypse tend to put me off my running stride.

    While they might not all be super popular, at least you have a steady business model Hump. Doomsday might not actually come, but doomsday cults are always springing up..


  4. the more doomsday cults the merrier I always say.
    Of course the ones where the advocates and their followers kill themselves are the most productive… natural slection.


Leave a Reply

